International Focus Group on Tephrochronology



This group has changed name to the Commission on Tephrochronology (COT) to reflect our transition from INTAV under the INQUA umbrella to COT under the IAVCEI umbrella. This transition has been some time coming since our acceptance by IAVCEI in late 2019. It doesn't affect the focus of the group, in fact we hope it will broaden the focus while providing some longer term stability. The original incarnation of the group was called COT so we have returned full circle to our roots in 1965!

Keep an eye on for more announcements about the future of the focus group.


Inter-congress conference "Crossing New Frontiers: Tephra Hunt in Transylvania, 2018”
was a great success !!

The International Focus Group on Tephrochronology and Volcanism (INTAV) held a tephra conference, “Crossing New Frontiers: Tephra Hunt in Transylvania”, at Moieciu de Sus, near Braşov in the southern Carpathian Mountains of Transylvania, Romania, from 24 June to 1 July, 2018. This conference was very successful.
92 participants took part in the meeting, representing 20 countries, and including 21 students (17 undertaking PhDs).This number of participants is a record, the previous high being 74 participants at Kirishima in 2010. The greatest numbers are from the UK (24), Germany (14), Romania (7) and the USA (5) with up to four representatives from each of Denmark, Russia, Norway, Sweden, Canada, Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Japan, China, Poland, Serbia, Hungary, Singapore, Iceland, and New Zealand. We are especially grateful to the seven keynote speakers who have come from far and wide to provide cornerstone presentations for each of the seven oral sessions: Sabine Wulf (UK), Michael Sigl (Switzerland), David Karátson (Hungary), Caroline Bouvet de la Maisonneuve (Singapore), Maarten Blaauw (UK), John Westgate (Canada), and Vera Ponomareva (Russia). Maarten Blaauw was kindly running the age-modelling workshop as well as giving his keynote paper.

LinkIconDetailed report by David Lowe


INQUA Life Member Certificate- Larsen-2018-v2.jpg

Awards to David Lowe and Guthrun Larsen for HONORARY LIFE MEMBERs

John with certificate.jpg



Special award to John Westgate for 50th anniversary of first EPMA paper

A special thanks to the members of the LOC who have been working tirelessly on this conference for a long time:

Local organizing committee:

Romanian Academy and Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj, Romania
(tephrochronology, paleoclimate)
Prof. David Karatson, ELTE Budapest, Hungary(geomorphologist, volcanologist)
Dr. Ioan Seghedi, Romanian Geological survey
(volcanologist, geochemist)
Dr. Alexandru Szakacs, Sapientia University, Cluj, Romania
(volcanologist, geochemist)
Dr. Ulrich Hambach, Chair of Geomorphology, University of Bayreuth, Germany
(loess magnetism and paleoclimate)
Dr. Alida Timar-Gabor, Babes-Bolyai University, Cluj, Romanian Academy
(OSL dating)
Prof. Cristian Panaiotu, University of Bucharest, Romania


Around the meeting venue: Resort ‘Cheile
Gradistei’ Fundata in the village of
Moieciu de Sus

restaurant venue.jpg

Restaurant Fundata Cheile Grădiștei


Oral session at Restaurant Fundata Cheile Grădiștei


Workshop chronological modelling
(promoter: Maarten Blaauw)


Intraconference field trip in the Persani volcanic field


Bran Castle known as Dracula’s castle